First Project: Lap Scarf

My company, J. Govan Designs, specialize in various clothing, jewelry and accessories. I sell custom lap scarves (designed to cover knees due short or knee length skirts or dresses while sitting. Usually, in church.), custom jewelry, etc in my online store http://jgovandesigns.bigcartel.com.

Today, an order came in for a navy blue lap scarf for a funeral. Her deceased husband was a Dallas Cowboys fan. She initially wanted a Dallas Cowboys tie, but the timeframe was too tight for me (I work full-time). So she just wanted the lap scarf for herself. Well…this order gave me the chance to finally test out my new machine. I like it…it’s quieter than my mom’s, but I feel like it could be smoother going across seams or folded corners. It makes a “thump”. šŸ˜® So I need to get used to it. It’s not an expensive machine, but it gets the job done. My ultimate goal is a computerized model.

Here’s a pic or two of the process:

image

Jaila the Brother sewing machine.

image

Hemmed edge.

image

Lace edge.

image

Folded for packaging.

See you soon!
Jai

6 thoughts on “First Project: Lap Scarf

Leave a Reply

